Life Update: Hiatus because I’m going to TRAVEL THE WORLD

13938577_10100382980775404_3856741677086492826_n
A badly lit picture of me surveying the Himalayas. Just kidding. That’s Colorado. I’m barely six feet off the ground in this picture.

It’s about that time, friends. Time for a weekly blog update. The last weekly update for awhile.

Why?

Because next week, I’m going to be a world traveler for 22 days.

By “world” traveler, I mean eastern Europe. (And Detroit, if you count where we’re flying out of.)

Since I’m going to be busy, I won’t have time for a weekly post. But I’m sure I’ll have lots to say when I get back. Here’s the countries I’ll be traveling to:

  • Austria
  • Germany
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary

(If you’ve ever been to any of these countries, leave a comment about what it’s like!)

This is my first time out of the country. Ever. And to be honest, I’m afraid. I’m excited, but I’m afraid. I want to know as much as possible before I go somewhere so I won’t be surprised, but…what if something surprises me? What if something bad happens? What if I can’t find the bathroom?! 

If you have traveling advice, I’d love to hear from you. I’m by no means a seasoned traveler. I’ve been to half a dozen US states, flown on a plane twice, and look at pictures of British Columbia in my spare time. Don’t have a lot of street cred in the traveling regard.

And yet I meet so many people who hunger for travel. Their passport is half full. They have trinkets and doohickeys from every corner of the world. Their Instagram is full of beautiful pictures of exotic places.

But you know what? I don’t really have that hunger.

I never really have.

I’ve always been a homebody. I like traveling, but my favorite part of traveling has always been coming home, returning to what I know and love. I’m kind of like a hobbit in that way. Bilbo Baggins didn’t want to leave his hole in the ground, but he did, and it was uncomfortable. But it was what he needed.

I’m a homebody. Maybe that will change after 22 days abroad. I don’t really know right now. I do know that things are less frightening once you get to the other side. So I guess I’ll make like a chicken and try to get there before deciding if I like traveling or not.

Fear has prevented me from doing a lot of things, but it’s not going to prevent me from doing this.

Anyway, I hope this post isn’t too rambly. It’s half blog post, half pep talk for myself. I just figured I’d give a life update to the 38 people who actually follow me and occasionally read this.

It’s not a goodbye – it’s just a see you later.

 

Leave a Reply

